Shocks and surprises hit NPP’s C/R polls

The New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) postponed Central Regional Annual Delegates Conference came off on Saturday, 5th June 2022, at the Dunkwa-On-Offin Nursing and Midwifery Training College, in the Upper Denkyira West District of the Central Region.

The election was finally held after a Cape Coast High Court placed an injunction on the process.

The conference was originally slated for May 27, 2022, but due to an application for interlocutory injunction filed at the Cape Coast High Court by some aggrieved party members, it was halted.

The aggrieved members from the Ekumfi Municipality, expressed their displeasure after they were disqualified from voting to elect their District executives by the Regional Chairman, Mr. Robert Kutin Junior.

They were accused of making unfortunate comments passed, which according to the chairman, tarnished the image of the party.

Before its day of climax, thirty aspirants vying for ten different positions, were vetted.

Two persons, Ahmed Siiba-Adams, and Joseph K. Donkor, who were vying for the position of Nasara Co-ordinator and 1st Vice-Chairman respectively, were disqualified.

The highly anticipated elections which saw a strong contention in the Chairmanship position, had incumbent Mr. Robert Kutin Junior, Dr. Joseph Kobina Essibu (CEO for Ideal College) and Dr. Alfred Kojo Thompson (Former NIB Deputy Managing Director) all vie for position.

The incumbent won by polling 237votes out of the total votes cast, as against his close call rival Dr. Joseph Kobina Essibu’s 195 votes.

Hon. Anthony Kwesi Sackey, MASLOC Manager for the Central Region, the region’s immediate past youth organizer, also pulled 299 votes after facing strong opposition in Francis Ejaku Donkoh, who pulled 147 votes to be elected as the current Central Regional Organizer.

Mr. Richard Takyi-Mensah and Abubakar Osman, affectionately known as BUBA retained their positions as the Regional Secretary and Nasara Co-ordinator respectively.

The election had a total number of 454 voters deciding the fate of 28 aspirates who vied for ten different positions.

Electoral Commission’s Certified Results From The NPP Central Regional Annual Delegates Conference
CHAIRMAN– (3 Aspirants)
Robert K. Kutin Jnr. – 237votes (Winner)
Joseph Kobina Essibu – 195votes
Alfred Kojo Thompson – 14votes
• Former NIA Deputy Managing Director
1ST VICE CHAIRMAN…(3 Aspirants)
Percy Dennis Quaicoe – 227votes (Winner)
Theophilus Effum Halm – 210votes
Cecilia Koufie – 15votes
2ND VICE CHAIRMAN…(3 Aspirants)
Kingsley K. Karikari-bondzie – 203votes
Michael Mensah – 219votes (Winner)
Nana Ama Abrefi – 24votes
SECRETARY….(2 Aspirants)
Richard Takyi-mensah – 239votes (Winner)
Armstrong Esaah 207votes
ASS. SECRETARY… (4 Aspirants)
Kweku Nyarkoh-Koomson – 185votes
Charles Kojo Odoom – 189votes (Winner)
Emmanuel Oduro Ansah – 62votes
Noah Osei Asenso – 0
TREASURER….(4 Aspirants)
Faustina Baah – 133votes
Francis Asare – 175votes (Winner)
Michael Kyeremateng – 95votes
Kwesi Eyi Acquah – 42votes
ORGANIZER….(2 Aspirants)
Anthony Kwesi Sackey – 299votes (Winner)
Francis Ejaku Donkoh – 147votes
WOMEN’S ORGANIZER… (3 Aspirants)
Charlotte Adwoa Antwi – 231votes (Winner)
Sarah Afful – 186votes
Agnes Owusu – 28votes
YOUTH ORGANIZER….(2 Aspirants)
Samuel Annobil Baidoo – 197votes
Kenneth Quansah – 249votes (Winner)
Abubakar Osman – 245votes *(Winner)*
Djagaba King Safianu – 201votes

By: Eric Annan/

You might also like

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More